At first this project seemed terrifying and scary because of how open ended it was and it is still really scary. I didn’t have any ideas of what I could do that would have an impact on anybody or create something that wasn’t just another “school” project. I went through a lot of different ideas….

  • Rap
  • Write a Musical
  • Create an app
  • Create a website for general complaining
  • Go silent for a week (if you found my last blog, you know that story)

After not knowing what I was doing for literally ever, I wrote out all of my interests on a whiteboard and what possible things connected to them. In the end i still had absolutely no idea as to what I was going to do so after talking with my wonderful teacher , who’s blog you can find here, suggested that I do a documentary about color guard, I thought that this would be a really bad idea and the more I though about it the more complicated it seemed. I have no other ideas so for right now at least i’m going with that, Eric the Documenterererer…..

The first thing I need to understand before committing to this is how are documentaries made, how do I make one, do I need money, how do I film, what do I film with, what do I film, what do i say, is there a plot, what is a documentary and many many more scary questions that need answers. I need to start answering those so my best friend Google has got my back.

In an interview with Michael Moore the filmmaker behind the documentaries Roger and 220px-michael_moore_2011_shankbone_4Me and Fahrenheit 9/11 he layed out his thirteen rules to making a documentary, and you can read that interview here but I will just write about what I think made an impact on what I am going to do. First off he stressed the idea that this is a film and not a documentary, and that I should treat it the same way filming a movie with fictional characters would be treated. He also stated “Don’t Tell me Shit I Already Know”, meaning that i shouldn’t treat the audience like they are an idiot, they all have brains and understand topics without lengthy explanations. Don’t use the film as a way to lecture an audience or attempt to be a college professor. Essentially i took it as that there is no format or template to follow when filming, we don’t want a five paragraph essay format for a film. And finally use humor, he says that humor is and underused art in documentaries. It allows for the audience to feel engaged and have fun and then go home and do something, or go home feeling something other than depression or some other passive emotion.

So in the end I need to figure out exactly what I am doing and how i am doing it so until then keep being Pretty Odd…..#Branding

One thought on “20 Time

  1. #branding !!!! Indeed. I’ve a lesson at the end of the year I’m interested in trying out that’s focused on branding. (and by the way…you’re going to hate this…Walt Whitman’s Song of Myself? Totally about branding himself. (Aint that what got James Franco all up in his grill and such?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

