Well, I had a long Easter break and ended up working on an AP project instead of getting 20Time work done so I am a bit behind schedule. I wanted to have a final layout for the room by two days ago but because I would like to get input from possible users of the space, those users are the students of my school and while I can’t survey everybody in the school I can possibly get some feedback on what a makerspace should be like in my school. I am constructing large cardboard panels with pictures of different makerspaces and resources on them. By having students put stickers on the pictures they like I can gain a better understanding of what they would like the space to be like.41677 On top of all of this I would like to create the 3D environment so that I can use Virtual reality to demonstrate what the space would look like from the perspective of being inside of it. I believe that by using the software SketchUp I can find a plugin to allow Google Cardboard functionality.

Something really cool that I did recently was I got to talk to a designer who is innovating my middle school’s library. I ran my ideas by him and got some feedback on how to better understand what a client might want and how to better incorporate a makerspace into my school. I also talked to him about how do I keep flexibility in this room. He suggested that everything or at least most things have wheels and can be moved around or go outside so that we can really be compatible for any project.

I will definitely be using that meeting to my advantage and use it to further my own designs. Another aspect of 20Time is that I have to write a research paper on something related to my project. I am still trying to think of what exactly it should be on and what book resource I should use as a source for it. But this all for now!

Leave a comment